FrenchEnglishEspañol
You are here: Home | The Movement | Origin | The disciples
The disciples

the disciples who were swamis and presidents of the order

S. BrahmanandaS.ShivanandaS. Akhandananda S.Vijnanananda  RAKHAL – SWAMI BRAHMANANDA (1863 - 1922). When Swami Vivekananda founded what was going to become the Ramakrishna Order and Mission, he immediately entrusted the responsibility for it on Swami Brahmananda, who was thus the first President of the Order from 1899 to 1922. A collection entitled The Eternal Companion brings together the memories of those who knew him.

TARAK – SWAMI SHIVANANDA  (1854 – 1934). President of the Order from 1922 to 1934. He was 26 years of age when he met Ramakrishna.

GANGADHAR – SWAMI AKHANDANANDA (1866 – 1937). He met Ramakrishna in 1994. In 1897 he led the Mission’s first social and humanitarian project. He was President of the Order from 1934 to 1936.

HARI PRASANA – SWAMI VIJNANANANDA (1868 – 1938). President of the Order from 1936 to 1938. He was the last direct disciple of Ramakrishna to  exercise this function.

the disciples who were swamis

S.Adbhutananda S.Subhodananda S.Trigunatitananda S.Turiyananda S.Ramakrishnananda S.AbhedanandaS.AdvaïtanandaS.YoganandaS.PremanandaS.Saradananda







LATU – SWAMI ADBHUTANANDA (? – 1920). Coming from a very poor family, an orphan at an early age, illiterate, he drew from his simplicity a wisdom that enlightened everyone. He served Ramakrishna, but always refused, although he was a monk and recognised by his fellow monks for his wisdom, to join the Order or its Management Board. He spent the last eight years of his life in Benares-Varanasi.

SWAMI SUBHODANANDA (1867 – 1932). He met Ramakrishna in 1884, and was loved by all for his child-like character.

SWAMI TRIGUNATITANANDA (1865 – 1915). Born in an aristocratic family, he was a spoiled child, a good student (one of the best in M’s class).  At the feet of Ramakrishna he learned the blessings of service and simplicity. At Swami Vivekananda’s request he looked after the magazine Udbodhan, was then sent to San Francisco, where he spent the last twelve years of his life. He established a temple there, The Universal Temple, which has today become an historical monument.

HARI – SWAMI TURIYANANDA (1863 – 1922). Born in a Brahmin family, educated in accordance with his caste ideals, he was thirteen or fourteen years of age when he met Ramakrishna. He was the founder of an ashram in San Francisco.

SASHI – SWAMI RAMAKRISHNANANDA (1863 – 1911). He met Ramakrishnananda in 1883 and stayed with him. Sent to Madras by Swami Vivekananda in 1897, he established and orphanage there, in which any child was received irrespective of caste or race (this orphanage still exists today and cares for more than 500 orphans). He spent the last years of his life in Kolkata.

KALI – SWAMI ABHEDANANDA  (1866 – 1939). Erudite, a regular visitor of Ramakrishna, he accompanied Swami Vivekananda to England and stayed in the United States (in New York) from 1897 to 1921. He was the last of the direct disciples.

GOPAL – SWAMI ADVAITANANDA (1828 – 1909)

SWAMI YOGANANDA (1862 – 1898). A direct disciple of Ramakrishna, he was however initiated by Sarada Devi.

BABURAM – SWAMI PREMANANDA (1861 – 1918). He left the memory of a man who knew how to love his brothers like a mother loves her children.

SARAT – SWAMI SARADANANDA (1865 – 1927). Born in a well-to-do orthodox Brahmin family, he met Ramakrishna in 1883. Swami Vivekananda sent him to the United States in 1896 before recalling him two and a half years later to take on the responsibility of the General Secretariat of the Order and Mission. He visited England, France and Italy. During a stay in Rome, he had an experience during which he felt that he could have known the disciples of Jesus. He is the author of a biography of Ramakrishna, Sri Ramakrishna, the Great Master (Lila Prasanga being the original title in Bengali), since translated a little while ago into French.


S.YatiswaranandaSWAMI YATISWARANANDA  (1889 – 1966). Initiated by Swami Brahmananda, Swami Yatiswarananda is not a direct disciple, but he is so closely connected with the history of the Ramakrishna Mission in France and in Europe that we must mention him. When invited by some European spiritual aspirants, he first went to Wiesbaden and Geneva, then to France, Italy and Holland.



the lay disciples

M.Girish Gosh

M. – MAHENDRANATH GUPTA (1854 – 1932). He met Ramakrishna in 1882 when he was thinking of putting an end to his life as he was in such despair. He is the author of the book Sri Sri Ramakrishna Kathamrita (translated into French under the title Les entretiens de Ramakrishna), which is the long transcription of the notes taken on the spot during dialogues between Ramakrishna and his visitors: daily conversations and rare moments, laughter and songs, walks and ecstasies, alternate in grace and are always the pretext for spiritual teachings often transmitted in the form of stories or images.

GIRISH CHANDRA GHOSH (1844 – 1912). A celebrated and renowned dramatist (father of the modern Bengali theatre) for whom Ramakrishna showed a lot of affection. Although married and a family man, he was considered by the other disciples of Ramakrishna as a sannyasin, that is to say a renouncer.

MATHUR BABU. The son-in-law of Rani Rasmani, the donor of the Kali temple in Dakshineswar, he was, in his capacity of temple manager, the first witness of Ramakrishna’s religious and spiritual experiences, and he was his protector.


Last Updated on Tuesday, 18 August 2015

FrenchEnglishEspañol
Vous êtes ici : Accueil | Le Mouvement | A l'origine | Les disciples
Les disciples

les disciples qui furent swamis et présidents de l’ordre

S. BrahmanandaS.ShivanandaS. Akhandananda S.Vijnanananda  RAKHAL – SWAMI BRAHMANANDA (1863 - 1922) Lorsque Swami Vivekananda fonda ce qui allait devenir l’Ordre et la Mission Ramakrishna, il en confia immédiatement la responsabilité à Swami Brahmananda qui fut ainsi le premier Président de l’Ordre, de 1899 à 1922. Un recueil L’Éternel Compagnon rassemble les souvenirs de ceux qui l’ont connu.

TARAK – SWAMI SHIVÂNANDA (1854 - 1934)  Président de l’Ordre de 1922 à 1934. Il avait 26 ans lorsqu’il connut Ramakrishna.

GANGADHAR – SWAMI AKHANDÂNANDA (1866 - 1937) Il rencontra Ramakrishna en 1884. En 1897, il conduira le premier projet à but social et humanitaire de la Mission.  Il fut Président de l’Ordre de 1934 à 1936.

HARI PRASANA – SWAMI VIJNANANANDA (1868 - 1938) Président de l’Ordre de 1936 à 1938, il aura été le dernier disciple direct de Ramakrishna à exercer cette fonction.

les disciples qui furent swamis

S.Adbhutananda S.Subhodananda S.Trigunatitananda S.Turiyananda S.Ramakrishnananda S.AbhedanandaS.AdvaïtanandaS.YoganandaS.PremanandaS.Saradananda

 LATU – SWAMI ADBHUTANANDA ( ? – 1920) Originaire d’une famille très pauvre, tôt orphelin, illettré, il tira de sa simplicité une sagesse qui éclairait chacun. Il servit Ramakrishna mais refusa toujours, bien qu’il fût moine et reconnût par ses pairs pour sa sagesse, d’intégrer l’Ordre ou son Conseil d’administration. Il passa les huit dernières années de sa vie à Bénarès – Vanarasi.

SWAMI SUBHODANANDA (1867 - 1932) Il rencontra Ramakrishna en 1884, et fut aimé de tous pour son caractère pareil à celui d’un enfant.

SWAMI TRIGUNATITANANDA (1865 - 1915) Issu d’une famille aristocratique, enfant très gâté, bon élève (un des meilleurs de la classe de M.), il apprit auprès de Ramakrishna les bienfaits du service et de la simplicité. À la demande de Swami Vivekananda, il s’occupa du journal Udbodhan puis fut envoyé à San Francisco où il passa une dizaine d’années avant d’y finir ses jours. Il y fonda un temple, Le Temple universel, devenu aujourd’hui Monument historique.

HARI – SWAMI TURIYANANDA (1863 - 1922) Issu d’une famille de brahmanes, éduqué selon l’idéal de sa caste, il n’avait que treize ou quatorze ans lorsqu’il rencontra Ramakrishna. Il est à l’origine d’un ashram à San Francisco.

SASHI – SWAMI RAMAKRISHNANANDA (1863 - 1911) Il rencontra Ramakrishna en 1883 et resta auprès de lui. Envoyé à Madras par Swami Vivekananda en 1897, il y fonda un orphelinat dans lequel tout enfant était accueilli sans considération de caste ni de race (cet orphelinat existe encore aujourd’hui, qui prend en charge plus de 500 orphelins). Il passa les derniers jours de sa vie à Calcutta.

KALI – SWAMI ABHEDANANDA (1866 - 1939) Érudit, visiteur régulier de Ramakrishna, il accompagna Swami Vivekananda en Angleterre et resta aux États-Unis (à New York) de 1897 à 1921. Il fut le dernier des disciples directs.

GOPAL – SWAMI ADVAITANANDA (1828 – 1909)

SWAMI YOGANANDA (1862 - 1898) Disciple direct de Ramakrishna, il a cependant été initié par Sarada Devi.

BABURAM – SWAMI PREMANANDA (1861 - 1918) Il a laissé le souvenir d’un homme qui a su aimer ses frères comme une mère aime ses enfants.

SARAT – SWAMI SARADANANDA (1865 - 1927) Issu d’une famille brahmane orthodoxe aisée, il rencontra Ramakrishna en 1883. Swami Vivekananda l’envoie aux États-Unis en 1896 avant de le rappeler deux ans et demi après pour prendre la responsabilité du secrétariat général de l’Ordre et de la Mission. Il a visité l’Angleterre, la France et l’Italie. Au cours d’un séjour à Rome, il eut une expérience au cours de laquelle il sentit ce qu’avaient pu connaître les disciples de Jésus. Il est l’auteur d’une biographie de Ramakrishna Shri Ramakrishna, the Great Master (Lila Prasanga titre original en bengali) traduite désormais depuis peu en français.


S.YatiswaranandaSWAMI YATISWARANANDA (1889 – 1966) Initié par Swami Brahmananda, Swami Yatiswarananda n’est pas un disciple direct mais il est  tellement lié à l’histoire de la Mission Ramakrishna en France et en Europe que nous devons le mentionner. Invité par des aspirants spirituels européens, il se rendit d’abord à Wiesbaden et à Genève, puis en France, en Italie et en Hollande.



les disciples laïcs

M.Girish GoshM. – MAHENDRANATH GUPTA (1854 - 1932) Il rencontra Ramakrishna en 1882 alors qu’il pensait mettre fin à ses jours tant il était alors désespéré. Il est l’auteur du livre Shri Shri Ramakrishna Kathamrita, (traduit en français sous le titre Les entretiens de Ramakrishna) qui est la longue transcription des notes prises sur le vif pendant les dialogues entre Ramakrishna et ses visiteurs : conversations quotidiennes et moments rares, rires et cantiques, promenades et extases,  y alternent dans la grâce et sont toujours prétexte à des enseignements spirituels souvent transmis sous la forme de contes ou d’images.

GIRISH CHANDRA GHOSH (1844 – 1912) Célèbre et renommé auteur dramatique (père du théâtre moderne bengali) pour lequel Ramakrishna manifesta beaucoup d’affection. Marié et père de famille, il fut cependant considéré par les autres disciples de Ramakrishna comme un sannyasin, c’est-à-dire un renonçant.

MATHUR BABU Gendre de Râni Rasmani, la donatrice du temple à Kali de Dakshineswar, il fut, en tant qu’administrateur du temple, le premier témoin des expériences religieuses et spirituelles de Ramakrishna, pour lequel il fut un protecteur.

BIBLIOGRAPHIE

La date est celle de la première édition en français ; le nom de l’éditeur est celui de la dernière édition en français
Les astérisques signalent les ouvrages cités deux fois (au nom de leur auteur ou sous le nom de la personnalité qui est leur thème ou sous celui de leur préfacier)


Swami Ashokananda




Swami Ashokananda

Les pratiques spirituelles

Maisonneuve

1944

Swami Brahmananda




*Swami Brahmananda

Les paroles du maître

Grands Maîtres

1937*

Swami Brahmananda

Discipline monastique

Albin Michel

1949

*Swami Prabhavananda

L’éternel compagnon

Maisonneuve*

1947

Swami Nikhilananda




Swami Nikhilananda

Comment discriminer le spectateur du spectacle (Commentaire)

Maisonneuve

1945

*Swami Nikhilananda

La vie de Vivekananda

De Bartillat

1956*

Sœur Nivedita




Lizelle Reymond

Nivedita fille de l’Inde

Albin Michel

1945

Sœur Nivedita

Un chant d’amour et de mort

Derain

1952

*Sœur Nivedita

Vivekananda tel que je l’ai vu

Albin Michel

1952*

Swami Paramananda




Swami Paramananda

La voie de la dévotion

Sack Geuthner

1913

Swami Paramananda

Mon credo

Rosicruciennes

1941

Swami Paramananda

La porte secrète

Maisonneuve

1943

Swami Paramananda

La guérison spirituelle

Rosicruciennes

1953

Swami Paramananda

Le Christ et l’idéal oriental

Abbaye du Livre

1948

Swami Prabhavananda




*Swami Prabhavananda

L’éternel compagnon

Maisonneuve

1947*

Christopher Isherwood

Mon gourou et son disciple

10/18

1982

Swami Prabhavananda

Les Bhakti sutras selon Narada

CVR

1983

Swami Prabhavananda

Le sermon sur la montagne d’après le Védanta

CVR

1985

Swami Prabhavananda

Enseignements et témoignages

CVR

1985

Swami Premananda




Swami Premananda

Enseignements et témoignages

CVR

1985

Swami Turiyananda




* Swami Ritajananda

La vie de Swami Turiyananda

CVR

1979*






Mise à jour le Mardi 18 Août 2015